Redtail

Friday morning I heard what sounded like a hawk’s cry while I was doing breakfast dishes. I looked out the back window and saw this beauty hanging out in the cottonwood.

????????

It hung around the backyard, flying between the tree and neighbors’ roofs for a good 15 minutes.

??????????

Lovely way to start the day. And not long after, I noticed the shadows on the cottonwood tree were shifting hearts.

????????

Can you see them?

About Siobhan Wolf

Single mom, Spiritualist medium and minister, writer, and photographer exploring life from central Ohio.
This entry was posted in 365 Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Redtail

  1. Siobhan Wolf says:

    It has been brought to my attention by someone with greater bird identification experience than I that this is probably a Cooper’s Hawk, not a Redtail. I stand happily corrected and value the experience not one ounce less.

    • Siobhan Wolf says:

      With a little more research and listening to hawk’s calls online, I think we’ve determined that my visitor is a Red Shouldered hawk. It was back again this morning, though I didn’t move quick enough to capture a photo of it. It is nice to have it as a regular visitor in the mornings.

Leave a Reply

