Coming Back

Creeaaak. I peek behind me. My Spirit Guide, Grey Wolf, smiles and nods towards the door. “It’s pretty dark in there,” I whisper.

“Go on,” he says, “I’m right behind you.”

Behind him, I can hear the shuffling of feet and then Meg hands me a feather duster. “Use this to clear the cobwebs, keeps them out of your hair,” she says and smiles. I swing the blue and green iridescent peacock feathers in a wide arch in front of me and push the door open a bit farther. A cold draft drifts past and I shiver. Wolf lays his hand on my shoulder and nudges me forward.

I feel a hand on my other shoulder and Trish hands me a heavy woolen sweater. “Bundle up, you can do this,” she says. The weight feels like a hug as I shrug on the sweater and take a few tentative steps. The feather duster leads my way into the neglected space.

“Here’s a broom,” MJ says. “It won’t take long to clear that floor.” With the broom I am able to find the desk and lamp that have been left here. I flick the switch and dust off the table, then the chair. The light leaves the space looking less daunting, and I turn my attention to sweeping the floor, clearing away all the remnants of time that have settled here and there. As promised, Wolf walks behind me, matching my every step.

A sound at the doorway draws my attention. Rubye and Barbara are holding a beautiful gilt tray. “Inspiration tea,” Rubye says. “And Chocolate Creation cookies,” Barbara adds. “Just a little sustenance for the journey.”

Now, the aroma of Inspiration fills the room. I dance the broom into the dim corners, finish off the eaves with the duster. I am warmed by the wool and feel as though a bit of sunlight has been stashed here just for me. The sturdy desk chair is ready and waiting and I sit. A bite of cookie, a sip of tea, and I am ready.

I am not yet sure where this journey will take me, but I am looking forward to the discovery. I hope you will join me.

About Siobhan Wolf

Single mom, Spiritualist medium and minister, writer, and photographer exploring life from central Ohio.
This entry was posted in Community, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coming Back

  1. MJ says:

    I am warmed by your writing, Siobhan. Yes, there is sunlight in there for you!

Leave a Reply

