Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes…  This refrain has been running through my head all day.  My long term babysitter gave me her informal two week notice last night.   I knew it would be coming.  Her family moved to Texas last year.  That didn’t, however, make the hearing of it easier.  I have a plan for the regular babysitting needs.  Still, it is hard.  I feel the loss washing over me like a gentle lapping wave.  It is familiar.   I don’t like it, but I know it well.  Over time, it hits less hard but that feeling of the bottom dropping just a little, the ground rolling beneath my feet, still happens.  I’ve learned to take deep breaths.  To ride the wave a little ways before letting my mind move into planning mode.  My mind has a tendency to run round in little circles rather than taking measured steps.  Over time, I’ve learned to trust that solutions will be found.  Sometimes, the first change has to be in place before more movement takes place. Forward motion has begun.

 

About Siobhan Wolf

Single mom, Spiritualist medium and minister, writer, and photographer exploring life from central Ohio.
This entry was posted in Parenting/Single Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. Change is hard…but I hope movement is good!

  2. Siobhan Wolf says:

    I think it will be. My friend, the girls’ second mom, will be taking over the regular sitting. The only gap is someone to watch them if she and I go out of town at the same time. I am trusting that options will present themselves. At the moment, there is not a pressing need for that kind of coverage.

  3. Dawn says:

    Honestly, you have the best attitude. I love that about you!

  4. Siobhan Wolf says:

    Thanks, Dawn. It certainly has not always been that way. It’s a journey with all the hills and valley of any.

  5. savannah says:

    i struggle a lot with change… especially if things were working just fine the way they were. i take comfort in familiarity. still, if nothing ever changed, i guess we would never have come to know the things we now find familiar… those were new at one time, too.

    i just wanted to stop over and share the message i sent to all the p.w. peeps who commented on my work throughout the workshop…

    “just wanted to stop and say hello… i’m going through all the profiles of those who commented on my picture winter photos, and looking to see if they have blogs or flickr accounts {and if not, then sending an e-mail}… so that i can A) say thank you for the comments and feedback you gave me, and B) let them know i would love to stay in touch… especially to those who expressed interest in keeping up to date on what is happening with my pregnancy. since i can not remember all who asked, i thought i would just go through each profile and send a message. =)

    i’ll be updating my blog periodically with baby news… just in case you are interested:
    itsjusthowiseethings.blogspot.com/

    thanks again for all your comments on p.w.! it was an inspiration to meet you and see your work! i hope to see more of it even though the class is over.”

    i wish you the best!

    xo
    ~georgia

    • Siobhan Wolf says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Georgia. I appreciate the visit and the comment. It is true, if nothing ever changed, we’d never move on to even better things. Still it’s hard. I’m with you, especially if it was working just fine the way it was! How many times I’ve thought that very thing.

      I enjoyed your work at the Picture Winter class very much. I’m happy to keep in contact going forward. Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy, and keep on making those beautiful photos!

  6. Amber Bobnar says:

    We’re going through the same thing. It’s amazing how much a little change (like finding a new sitter or PCA) can throw everything off.

    The funny thing is that my son is fine with these sorts of changes – he loves everybody! It’s me who has to adjust to finding and introducing a new person to our house.

    • Siobhan Wolf says:

      There is that as well, Amber. My biggest concern is finding someone reliable. Fortunately, my good friend is going to cover most of it. She told me that the kids told her that they wouldn’t have liked it if they were getting someone they didn’t know, but since it is her, they don’t mind so much. That saves a lot of the breaking in a new person, too. She’s been with us since we started this single parent journey three years ago.

Leave a Reply

