Longing

I am missing my old doggie tonight.  Seems like a funny thing given the timing – middle of winter storms, two days of school closures and being stuck inside, not able or wanting to get out of the house for any length of time.  If she were here, we’d be struggling along the icy sidewalks for her two a day walks. And she would love it, she was a Husky, afterall.

For 13 years, she was my nearly constant companion.  She so seriously disliked being left home alone that she would tear up any papers she could get her teeth into.  We even took to leaving “dog bait” in the form of subscription leaflets culled from magazines so she could rip up her anxiety and displeasure without destroying papers we needed.  She was a vocal furball who jumped down off the bed to lay in front of the bedroom door every night when I turned out the light. She was my snuggle buddy.  And she was a barrel of laughs.

The girls have been begging for another dog.  There are days when I think I am almost ready.  Most days, I know that I’m not.  Not yet.  We run so much and it would be tough on a dog coming into our family.  We’re lucky.  We have friends with dogs who bring them over to visit regularly.  It helps.  And I don’t doubt that our family will expand to include another dog some day.

Tonight, though.  Tonight I’m missing my Husky girl.  And I’m betting that when I head up to bed, I’ll have the nearly perceptible weight of a spirit dog on my feet.

About Siobhan Wolf

Single mom, Spiritualist medium and minister, writer, and photographer exploring life from central Ohio.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

