Holiday Melancholy

It’s been three years that I’ve been doing the single parent dance.  I’ve come a very long way in making that work with two very busy, active girls, one with invisible special needs  (invisible to onlookers, not, of course, to me).  Most of the time, our routines hold us in good stead .   Holidays, however, are another story.  When school is out and everyone gathers with family and friends, the girls and I have each other.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my girls and I love spending time with them.  But there are times, like holidays, when I really feel the absence of another adult in the family.

There isn’t really much to do about it.  It is what it is for us.  In fact, if Prince Charming were dropped on my doorstep, I would likely turn him away.  I can’t begin to wrap my mind around adding another relationship into our already complicated lives.  But there’s still that loneliness.  There’s still the girls’ off routine agitation and sass that gets splattered all over me with no one around to diffuse any of it.

We had a fine day.  Girls got a bit of tv time, we had a leisurely breakfast, and then went to the salon for overdue hair day.  After hair, we had a holiday dinner at the pizza buffet.  We got some homework done, some reading done,  and the girls got showered so they’re all clean and shiny from head to toe.  Tomorrow is another day off school, teacher’s comp day for conferences (well deserved, I might add!).  I’ll be taking the girls to the dentist mid-day.  Not sure what we’ll do with the rest of the day, but getting ready for Wednesday’s return to school will happen for sure.  Back to routine and back to status quo feeling, as well.  It is welcome.

About Siobhan Wolf

Single mom, Spiritualist medium and minister, writer, and photographer exploring life from central Ohio.
This entry was posted in Family, Grief/Loss, Parenting/Single Parenting, Special Needs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holiday Melancholy

  1. Dawn says:

    I wish we could have worked something out. I didn’t know these school’s out holidays could be hard for you but am glad I know it now.

  2. Siobhan Wolf says:

    It’s no problem. I remind myself that I’m the one that chose to live clear across the country from family, and there was a reason for that. I think the hardest part of it is just how out of balance A gets when routine changes. We get through it much more quickly than we have in the past, so I can only presume it will continue to get better and better.

Leave a Reply

