My Slice of Life

Over the past six weeks, I’ve been participating in the Slice of Life Project with the amazing and wonderful Darrah Parker. Here is some of what I’ve been up to.

Week One – What Matters to You: Home


What matters to me is fun time with my girls because they will not be little forever. This stack of games sits in our living room ready to go at a moment’s notice.


I am grateful for my girls. They made this beauty for me and recorded their voices yelling, “We love you, Mom!” that will sound when I squeeze the doggie’s paw.


It doesn’t happen often because my oldest has a very hard time doing homework while her sister is working, usually audibly, on hers. Today was a special treat as they both sat quietly working at the kitchen table. I am grateful for my little family.


My oldest daughter loves playing strategy games. They are very calming to her and this has been very important. She almost always beats me and we have a great time. Today she was home sick and I caught this part of one of our many games.

Week Two – Rituals and Routines


I’ve always admired photos of rivulets on windows but hadn’t been able to capture one. It rained so hard yesterday. What matters to me is that the gloom and dark skies didn’t keep me from getting my camera out and putting it to good use. Photographing my everyday has become a welcome routine and soothing ritual.


It is coming up on dance recital time. Every year, the tutus come crunched up in a cellophane bag. Hanging them in the bathroom where the steam from the shower will loosen the wrinkles leaving them full and fluffy. The letters on the wall were a Mother’s Day gift made for me by the daughter whose tutu is hanging below it. What matters to me is the sparkling joy these bring into our lives.

In the spirit of documenting the routines of those around us – this squirrel, who has a nest in the large cotton wood tree in our back yard, has taken to hanging out on this branch in the birch tree. The great thing about this tree? It is right outside the window over my kitchen sink. It doesn’t seem to mind my taking it’s portrait, and the girls love to watch it. The other day, it was sound asleep laying there. Today it was just watching me photograph it. I did crop this photo in order to remove a black streak at the bottom of the frame and is the window frame that I’m not quite tall enough to shoot over while standing on the floor.


My friend, Jackie, and her husband spend the evening with the girls and I often, and we’ve made a routine of every Thursday. I captured Jackie in the rear view mirror while we were driving from the girls’ art show tonight.

More juicy slices to come…

About Siobhan Wolf

Single mom, Spiritualist medium and minister, writer, and photographer exploring life from central Ohio.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Slice of Life

  1. Siobhan Wolf says:

    Thanks, Julia. It has been such a journey of discovery – one that will certainly continue in my life. What a joy.

  2. Love the photos. I want to subtitle the squirrel one. “Hanging on when you’re out on a limb.”

Leave a Reply

