Holiday Cheer

The girls had a great time Wednesday night putting the ornaments on the Christmas tree. This year, they did all the decorating while I unwrapped each bauble. We talked about where they came from, for it is the stories that make the decorations on our tree special, bringing friends and family from far away into our holiday celebration. I have several boxes of ornaments that were my grandmother’s.

I usually don’t get these out, but my little one got so excited when she saw the box. “What is THAT one?” she wanted to know.

“That’s the Enterprise, from Star Trek,” I told her. I had forgotten that it was a light up ornament, but the girls were delighted when we plugged it in and her lights started to blink and glow. We dug Voyager out of the box as well and she is soaring on the opposite side of the quadrant tree. My oldest comes in and checks on them, looking for the “space shuttle.”

Like the ships, most of our ornaments are something other than traditional globes. There are a few of those, though, and Malaika stopped and looked intently into one of the shiny ornaments. “What are you doing?” I asked her. “Looking for something,” she said. I encouraged her to hang the ball on the tree so we could finish up the decorating. She held up her hand to me and said, “Small moments, Mom. Let me have my small moment.” She warms my heart.

Loved the little heart that appeared in this capture. Small moments indeed.

Whatever holidays you celebrate, I wish you happiness and joy in them, and a heart filled with love.

About Siobhan Wolf

Single mom, Spiritualist medium and minister, writer, and photographer exploring life from central Ohio.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Family, Parenting/Single Parenting, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

