A Fresh New Start

Welcomed in the new year by sorting through and junking out the girls’ “office.” It was the one thing I didn’t get to while I was sick. Since I planned on sitting and watching football games all day, what better time to drag the boxes of papers to the couch and weed away. One thing I’ve learned from my friend and organizer, Melanie Dennis of Neat Streak, is that you can get a long ways with a plastic trash bag and a paper recycling bag. I filled two paper grocery bags and 3/4 of one large plastic garbage back. The girls’ homework spaces are visible and useable. I feel so much lighter with all the clutter removed from the house.

After dinner, we started up the transition into back to school routines – I read and did word and math fact flash cards with the little one and then read with the older one. Both headed to bed at school night bedtimes just for practice. We’ll be up in the morning celebrating our traditional new year’s day way – cinnamon rolls, the Tournament of Roses Parade, and more football. I’ve enjoyed having a break from all of my classes and commitments, but I think I’m ready to get back at it. Definitely ready for the kiddos to head back to their school routines.

This was my little treat for junking out the office today. Only a tiny sliver but it was oh so scrumptious.

About Siobhan Wolf

Single mom, Spiritualist medium and minister, writer, and photographer exploring life from central Ohio.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Family, Parenting/Single Parenting, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Fresh New Start

  1. You make me proud! Cleared spaces are more inspiring for doing homework.

Leave a Reply

