Make Way for Ducklings

This morning there was a baby duck in the middle of the street when I came home from driving kiddo to school. I had to park and get out of the car and shoo it over onto the side of the road. After I got my car parked, I walked back out to see what was going on and it was heading down to the busy road, so I went down and shooed it back up the street. Figuring that was good enough, I went back to my driveway, only to find another one wandering around on the sidewalk by the neighbor’s driveway. I made sure that the first one got across the street to it’s pal. There were two adult male ducks on the roof of the neighbor’s house but no females. When I started for my house, the two babies followed me. They followed me into the garage when I came in to grab my phone. They followed me back out, so close underfoot that I was afraid I would step on them.

So, I sat on the grass to call Ohio Wildlife to find out what I should do. The ducklings clamored up onto my lap and made themselves at home.

Wildlife assured me that the male was watching over them while the female was wherever she was and that they would be fine. The guy said to me, “Just leave them there.” I laughed. I told him they were following me around. I imagined myself walking up the street and then running away from them to try and get to the garage and get the door down before they got under it. Now, that would have been a sight. Instead, I went in and unlocked the front door then walked up to the stoop and left the little peepers there while I went and closed the garage door. Then I went back and shut the front door. The ducklings waddled off into the bushes. I later saw them out back wandering around in the back yard, the male duck sitting in a puddle of shade not far from them. I have no idea where they are nesting, had no idea there was even a nest around here, but I haven’t seen them since I got back home. Always something interesting around here it seems.

My backyard is a Certified Wildlife Habitat, but I had no idea just how much wildlife there was.

About Siobhan Wolf

Single mom, Spiritualist medium and minister, writer, and photographer exploring life from central Ohio.
This entry was posted in 365 Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Make Way for Ducklings

  1. Dori says:

    Oh my! I made my way over from the Now You group and am so glad I did. What a lovely tale, and you have the lovely photos to go with it.

  2. starscraper99 says:

    Love this photo!

  3. Sue says:

    What a wonderful, amazing experience to have the duckies crawl up and your lap and sit there contentedly.Obviously you do not give off threatening vibes.

    • Siobhan Wolf says:

      It was a pretty surreal experience. I’m still smiling about it. Such little cuties, so soft and warm with such loud peeps. I was quite smitten with them, have to say. I guess they could tell. It’s not ever day that wildlife babies adopt you, even if for only a short time in the morning sun.

  4. Sue says:

    up ONTO your lap – gah

  5. Scott says:

    awwww!!!!

  6. Janet Taylor says:

    that’s just beautiful.. they obviously know what a kind person you are

Leave a Reply

