Pals

We don’t currently have a dog, though the girls want one something fierce. Being the only adult in the house, I’m just not ready to add one more responsibility. Not to mention how busy we are, we are constantly on the run. I don’t like the thought of having to leave a dog at home alone for long stretches of time. I love dogs, too, and there are days when I wish we had one as well, but that time is just not right yet.

It is something of a blessing that my youngest even wants a dog. Both girls started out life with our Husky and both were quite comfortable with dogs. When little one was 5, she was bitten on the lower lip by a dog at a local park. Understandably, she became afraid of dogs that she didn’t know, and without a dog at home, I worried that she might never be comfortable around dogs again. Fortunately, my friend’s dog had other ideas.

I know I post a lot of pictures of Friskie here. In fact, I just posted one yesterday. But when I see moments like these, there is no way I can pass them up. Given her history, I am overwhelmed with gratitude and joy at how this little dog has healed the fear of my little girl. She loves him and he her. They are an inseparable pair when he comes to visit, which is several times a week. I am so grateful that they are pals.

I looked up to see her lying beside him, copying his position. It gave me a good chuckle.

Two peas in a pod.

I’m pretty sure that left alone, they both would have been asleep in no time.

About Siobhan Wolf

Single mom, Spiritualist medium and minister, writer, and photographer exploring life from central Ohio.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Family, Friends and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pals

  1. andy says:

    I love these pictures!!! Too cute.

Leave a Reply

