Thunder and Lightning

Started off the day well. My BFF and I went shopping with great success. They were predicting a big storm for the afternoon and we got home before anything started. The skies were threatening, though, so we knew it was coming.

As it started, the winds kicked up a bit but nothing like we had a month ago when the derecho came through. There was, however, a lot of lightning associated with this storm. My friend and I were sitting in the living room watching the news coverage of the storm when we heard a very loud craaaa-ack! I looked out the window just in time to see a large branch from one of the cottonwoods in the back yard crash to the ground.

The branch fell just behind the kids’ swing set, in the space between it and the neighbor’s landscaping. How it managed to land in the one spot where it caused no damage to anything in its path, I’ve no idea. But that’s exactly what it did. Missed the fort and swing set, missed the neighbor’s smaller trees, missed my Rose of Sharon bushes. You can see the length of the branch stretching from the tree trunk on the left of the frame to behind the tree on the right side of the frame above. Amazing.

It rained like mad for a while, and when it let we went out to check out the tree. It looks to me like lightning struck the tree trunk right where that branch was growing. From what I could see, it looks like the tree is charred where the branch came away from the tree. Glad it was raining hard so the entire tree didn’t go up in flames.

I’ve made a call, so hopefully it won’t be long until I can get someone out to cut the downed branch. I’m hopeful that the rest of the tree will be okay and won’t have to come down as well.

Quite the excitement for a Thursday afternoon. I am glad that the kids are at camp. They are far enough west of us that the storm hadn’t gathered strength and was just rain when it went through there.

About Siobhan Wolf

Single mom, Spiritualist medium and minister, writer, and photographer exploring life from central Ohio.
This entry was posted in 365 Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

